2022 Step Up Your Game

Become recognized as an expert in the field!

The CEC Step Up Your Game Conference provides our staff with an opportunity to prepare fresh content and work with a senior mentor to develop and polish a presentation, culminating in an opportunity to present in front of an audience of their peers in preparation for regional and national conferences. 

Date and Time

May 10, 2022
7:30 am – 5:30 pm

Location

Foster Plaza Bldg. 10
Lower Level Training Room
680 Andersen Drive
Pittsburgh, PA  15220

Visit website

Hotel Information

Those who are also attending the Environmental Practice meeting in Pittsburgh may already have hotel arrangements made. For those who are attending the Step Up Your Game Conference only, please consider the following options for your hotel stay. All arrangements must be made by the attendees.

Near Foster Plaza (Site of Step Up Your Game Conference):
DoubleTree Green Tree
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh Green Tree

Near the Pittsburgh office (700 Cherrington Parkway, Moon Township, PA 15108): 
Courtyard Marriott Pittsburgh Airport (block rate available for reservations made before April 28)
DoubleTree Pittsburgh Airport

Event Information

The CEC Step Up Your Game Conference will:

  • Promote the use of innovative technologies, techniques, and best practices to better serve CEC clients.
  • Expand CEC’s knowledge and understanding of the most challenging technical matters that our clients face.
  • Provide staff (PM III and below) with opportunities to present in front of and interact with peers in a conference setting to prepare for presenting at future external conferences.

Conference Vendors

TerraTherm
Provectus Environmental Products, Inc.
Microbial Insights
GEOKON

COVID-19 information

Please do not attend the event if you are feeling sick or have symptoms of COVID-19.  Masks will be available for attendees who wish to wear one during the conference.

 

Time Topic Presenting
7:30am – 8:15 Registration / Coffee / Continental Breakfast  
8:15 – 8:30 Introductions  
8:30 – 9:00 Vapor Mitigation at a Residential Apartment Complex Natalie Betts, Monroeville
9:00 – 9:30 Brine Release Investigation and the Impacts of Road Salt Kristen Robertson, Pittsburgh
9:30 – 10:00 Avoiding Waste Over-Classification: Case Studies David Robinson, Austin
10:00 – 10:15 Break #1 – Lower Level Training Room Poster Presenters and Vendors
10:15 – 10:45 Developing a Conceptual Site Model for Industrial Landfill Compliance Well Network Using OpenGround Baylee Kushner, Pittsburgh
10:45 – 11:15 Utilizing Survey123 and Python Script to Standardize the Production of Project Deliverables Matthew Kramer, Columbus
11:15 – 11:45 Vendor Introductions and Brief Presentations Frank Phillips, Microbial Insights & Shawn Dedeker, GEOKON
12:00pm – 1:15 Lunch Poster Presenters and Vendors
1:15 – 1:45 Vendor Introductions and Brief Presentations Troy Lizer, Provectus & John Haas, TerraTherm
1:45 – 2:15 Prospecting for C&D Landfill Gas and Groundwater Migration Pathways Tommy Goodwin, St. Louis
2:15 – 2:45 Corrective Action for Methane Recovery at an Active Multi-Family Residential Property Constructed on Uncontrolled Fill David Follett, Columbus
2:45 – 3:15 Break #2 – Lower Level Training Room Poster Presenters and Vendors
3:15 – 3:45 PFAS in New England: Ubiquitous or Not? An Assessment of Data from Known Sites Dylan Lundgren, Boston
3:45 – 4:30 CEC Moderated PFAS Round Table Discussion Tomiczek, Maher, Kitchen, Cooper, et. al.
4:30 – 5:30 Networking/Happy Hour in the Lower Level Training Room  

 

POSTER PRESENTERS:
Landfill Solar Design & Permitting of Solar Power on Closed Disposal Facilities – Abigail Wallace, Pittsburgh
Complex Wastewater Evaluation and Treatment Technologies for Emerging Contaminants – Mehar Patel, Charlotte
In-situ Bioaugmentation for Remediation of Chlorinated Solvents – Laura Campbell, Pittsburgh
Remediation of Fractured Bedrock in Linden, NJ – Sean Cava, Philadelphia
Historical Dig: Uncovering the Past During Environmental Due Diligence – Nate Hyde, Indianapolis and Hayley Glaze, Columbus
Common Ground: How Rare Species and Proposed Pipelines Can Coexist – Kyle Filicky and Jenni Spang, Pittsburgh and Rob Schwarz, Athens

Step Up Your Game Presenters


Natalie Betts, P.E.

Project Manager I
nbetts@cecinc.com
Conference Abstract >>

Kristen Robertson, P.G.

Project Manager II
kdrobertson@cecinc.com
Conference Abstract >>

David Robinson, Ph.D., CHMM

Project Manager I
drobinson@cecinc.com
Conference Abstract >>

Baylee Kushner, G.I.T.

Project Scientist
bkushner@cecinc.com
Conference Abstract >>

Matt Kramer

Staff Scientist
mkramer@cecinc.com
Conference Abstract >>

Tommy Goodwin

Project Consultant
tgoodwin@cecinc.com
Conference Abstract >>

David Follett, L.P.G.

Project Manager II
dfollett@cecinc.com
Conference Abstract >>

Dylan Lundgren

Assistant Project Manager
dlundgren@cecinc.com
Conference Abstract >>

Step Up Your Game Poster Presenters


Abigail Pollock, E.I.T.

Project Manager I
apollock@cecinc.com
Conference Abstract >>

Mehar Patel, E.I.T.

Staff Consultant
mpatel@cecinc.com
Conference Abstract >>

Laura Campbell

Assistant Project Manager
lcampbell@cecinc.com
Conference Abstract >>

Sean Cava

Project Scientist
scava@cecinc.com
Conference Abstract >>

Hayley Glaze

Project Manager I
hglaze@cecinc.com
Conference Abstract >>

Nate Hyde

Project Manager I
nhyde@cecinc.com
Conference Abstract >>

Jeni Spang

Assistant Project Manager
jspang@cecinc.com
Conference Abstract >>

Kyle Filicky, PWS

Project Manager I
kfilicky@cecinc.com
Conference Abstract >>